top of page

Any Given Thursday

Xavier and Cairo were born at 37 weeks gestation, on the 31st October, 2013. They are my two gurus. My biggest joys and my teachers for life. Through them I learn the biggest lessons in compassion, kindness and being the best human I can be.

This week is Multiple Birth Awareness Week, so I wanted to write something that would give you an idea of how things run in my house on an average week day. It’s full on. It’s busy. It’s fun and it’s hectic. There have been days when I wanted to sit on the floor and cry. There have been days when I have sat on the floor and cried, but mostly It’s and amazing crazy ride and I love it. Being a mumma to these two monkeys is the best, and the hardest thing I’ve ever done.

Over the past 12 months my husband and I have celebrated our marriage in Bali (the celebration was slightly delayed due to the arrival of the boys), sold our home, bought a new home, moved house, and renovated. Well, we’re still renovating. It’s been madness. I’m not quite sure what possessed us to do all of this at once, but we’re just about to come up for air and we’re very grateful.

5.12am There’s squeaking coming from the boys room, so my husband gets up with the boys for a little Daddy time before he heads off to work leaving me with enough time to read the newspaper, check my emails, take my vitamins and have a cup of tea before I start the day with the boys.

By the time I’ve started my day, the boys have had their nappies changed and are dressed ready to race. I have the most wonderful and supportive husband in the world, and it makes having twins so much easier.

6.00am I can hear little feet running up and down the hallway. I love that sound. Then there’s a scream. Someone wants someone else’s book or toy. I don’t love that sound! OK, I’m up! Cairo is crying. Xavier has bitten him on the arm. I’m going to take it as a sign that they’re hungry so it’s time for breakfast. The boys have a cooked breakfast every morning. This morning it’s an egg each. Sunny side up, with buttery soldiers to dip. They love the dipping. It’s super messy, but it’s also super cute.

Once the boys are in their highchairs it’s time for me to make something for myself to eat. It’s so important for me to make sure I’ve got something sustaining in my tummy first thing. If not, I’m hangry by 9am and my patience with the kids gets really short.

6.30am Today is a work day for me. It’s time to get dressed and ready to get out the door. My husband is dashing around getting ready for work too. Between us we wipe up boys mess, get them out of their highchairs and set them up with some games to play. It seems that the food has done it’s job and they’re back to playing peek-a-boo with their little tent.

7.00am The boys babysitter has arrived and I’m about to dash out the door. They’re off to the Northern Beaches Multiple Birth Club monthly play group and I’m off to teach 2.5 hours of back to back yoga classes. It’s a little time out for me, and a great experience for the boys to go and play with other twins and celebrate how special they are.

11.00am Back to the house to meet the boys. We wave goodbye to our amazing sitter and run out into the back garden for a play while I make some lunch for everyone.

12.00pm Lunch

12.30pm The boys go down for their afternoon sleep. We’re in a bit of a funny transition phase with their sleeps at the moment. Sometimes they have a 45 minute morning nap (like today). Other days we run the gauntlet. They might go down for a sleep for a few hours around 10.30am, but by 5.00pm they’re ropable and needing some time out.

I’m off to a Multiple Birth Consultation with one of my gorgeous clients, so our babysitter arrives for the three hours I’m out.

1.00pm-3.30pm I spend an amazing two hours with a new client discussing birthing options, having a look at her beautiful nursery, chatting about the practicalities of sleeping arrangements with a working partner and newborn twins. All twin births are considered to be high risk, so they’re often highly medicalised, but, there’s a lot of little things that you can do to keep things as connected and human as possible while taking the best care of yourself and your babies. It can come down to something as small as making sure they put any needles necessary into your non-dominant hand, or taking an electric oil burner of your favourite essential oil into the room so that it smells more like home than hospital.

I absolutely love my job. I love making a difference in other twin mummas lives.

3.30pm Play time! Selfies with renovation background.

5.00pm It’s coming to the end of a big day for the boys and I. Dinner tonight is home made fish fingers, rice, peas corn and a roasted carrot. Frozen blueberries are the boys absolute favourite for desert.

6.00pm It’s bath time. Almost the best time of the day. The boys love the water, so we have music and a great time slashing around.

6.30pm Daddy’s home from work. Just in time too. We give each other a big hug as he takes over giving the boys their night time bottle and putting on their pjs.

I jump back into the car and head out to the Northern Beaches Multiple Birth Club Expectant Parent’s Evening that I’m hosting tonight.

7.00pm I’m here and setting up for our beautiful new families. Its an amazing time for them to ask questions about what they can expect.

7.15pm - 9.30pm

I get to spend time with two beautiful new Multiple Mummas and their partners.

9.45pm I’m back in the car and on my way home. Just have to stop for some milk on the way then I’ll be able to jump into bed.

11.00pm It’s lights out. It’s been a huge day but I’m ready to take on the world again tomorrow.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page