top of page

The Cloth Nappy Experiment - We had a party... then we got sick!

29th November, 2014 On the 29th of November we had a party. An awesome party to catch up with all of our friends. It was a beautiful day and we were all packed up and eating dinner by 7pm.

The Twins_edited.png

I had put CGS into a cloth nappy earlier in the day on the basis that it wan't likely that he wasn't likely to poo again. Well, we all know that he ended up with the most crazy poo possible right as people began to arrive for our party. Not ideal. Mess everywhere and a sign of things to come. Perhaps I should have thought it through a little better. The kids had just had their one year shots, so it was likely that they might end up with a little bit of an upset tummy the next day. But this time I thought I'd been smart. I'd used the bamboo liners. Hmmmm.... no luck here either. So I went back to the disposables for the sake of ease while we had 40 people in our back garden.

To be honest, I don't really rate the liners. Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but they don't seem to stay in place once the nappy is on. They bunch up. Meaning that you may as well go without because there's mess everywhere anyway! If anyone can let me know how to make them stay in place I'd be very grateful. The next day... 5am I wake. I wake with the most horrendous gastro bug that's been known to man. So bad that when I called the Dr. they asked if I'd been to West Africa recently. The good news is that it wasn't Ebola, but it sure felt like it. I was completely laid out. My amazing hubby stepped up and cancelled his day of skydiving fun to take care of us. Thank God! Needless to say, the whole family came down with the same thing over the next few days and cloth nappies were most definitely on hold. I did some reading on the subject a couple of days later. Apparently they recommend that you don't use cloth when the kids have a tummy bug. It's better to dispose of all the nappies to ensure that you don't spread infection. You learn something new every day. Personally I was feeling pretty rough myself for the next week and I just couldn't manage the thought of washing them out when they were that crazy. We're all much recovered now... And we've gone back to using the cloth nappies. I've abandoned the idea of the bamboo liners and am just willing to deal with the mess if and when there's a poo. I've also come to the realisation that as soon as I put a cloth nappy onto the boys there will inevitably be a poo. As sure as the day is long they will find a way to poop in those lovely pants that Mumma has to wash. But we're still doing it. Not all the time, but we're hanging in there, quite happily.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page